Gluten in Medication

Dec 28, 2010
 

As many as three million Americans may have celiac disease, an autoimmune disease that damages the small intestine and can cause a wide variety of serious health problems.

People with celiac disease must follow a lifelong gluten-free diet.  This means avoiding all foods that contain wheat, rye, and barley.
Medications can also contain gluten, which is used in some medications to bind pills together.
It is important for people with celiac disease to determine if their medication contains gluten.  Unfortunately, that isn’t easy because right now there are no requirements for sources of gluten to be listed on the medication label.
Resources for checking if your medication contains gluten:
  1. Contact the company that makes your drugs, or ask your pharmacist to do so.
  2. Glutenfreedrugs.com is a website maintained as a public service by a pharmacist at Nationwide Children’s Hospital.
  3. A Guide through the Medicine Cabinet is a book developed to provide people with special dietary requirements additional information about medications. [via]

Merry Christmas from Glutenine

Dec 25, 2010

The Gluten-free Diet: Some Examples

Dec 20, 2010


In 2006, the American Dietetic Association updated its recommendations for a gluten-free diet. The following chart is based on the 2006 recommendations. This list is not complete, so people with celiac disease should discuss gluten-free food choices with a dietitian or physician who specializes in celiac disease. People with celiac disease should always read food ingredient lists carefully to make sure the food does not contain gluten.

Rss Feed

Dec 18, 2010

Please add Glutenine on your RSS feed:
http://feeds.feedburner.com/Glutenine

Another type of advice

Dec 17, 2010
Coeliac disease leads to severe damage of the gut surface, which can be completely reversed by following a gluten-free diet. Shortly after the diagnosis of coeliac disease,
you need to be extra careful to ensure you have a nutritionally adequate diet, as youmay have been suffering from malabsorption of nutrients.

NYC Gluten Free Locations

I quickly wanted to make a post about places you can find in NYC that are gluten free. Most happen to vegan centered, who knows?

  1. S'Mac
  2. Hill Country
  3. Rice To Riches
  4. Asia de Cuba
  5. Candle 79
  6. Forlini's Restaurant
  7. Bare Burger
  8. Del Posto
  9. Cafe Blossom
  10. Sparks
Oher places:
 Bistango Ristorante

415 Third Avenue, New York  - (212) 725-8484

 Mozzarelli's Pizza

38 East 23rd Street, New York  - (212) 475-6777


Tu-Lu Bakery

338 East 11th Street, New York  - (212) 777-2227



Gluten Free flours

 

Amaranth flour

Amaranth flour is made from the seed of the Amaranth plant, which is a leafy vegetable. Amaranth seeds are very high in protein, which makes a nutritious flour for baking. Alternative names: African spinach, Chinese spinach, Indian spinach, elephants ear.
yesWheat free yesGluten free

Arrowroot flour

Arrowroot flour is ground from the root of the plant, and is very useful for thickening recipes. It is tasteless, and the fine powder becomes clear when it is cooked, which makes it ideal for thickening clear sauces.
yesWheat free yesGluten free

Barley flour

Barley only contains a small amount of gluten, so is rarely used to make bread, with the exception of unleavened bread. It has a slightly nutty flavour, and can be used to thicken or flavour soups or stews. Blended with other alternative flours it is also fairly versatile for cakes, biscuits, pastry, dumplings etc.
yesWheat free noGluten free

Brown rice flour

Brown rice flour is heavier than its relative, white rice flour. It is milled from unpolished brown rice so it has a higher nutritional value than white, and as it contains the bran of the brown rice it has a higher fibre content. This also means that it has a noticeable texture, a bit grainy.
It does have a slight nutty taste, which will sometimes come out in recipes depending on the other ingredients, and the texture will also contribute to a heavier product than recipes made with white rice flour.
It is not often used completely on its own because of its heavier nature.
Bulk buying is not recommended as it is better used when fresh, store in an airtight container.
yes Wheat free yesGluten free

Buckwheat flour

Buckwheat flour is not, despite its name a form of wheat, buckwheat is actually related to rhubarb. The small seeds of the plant are ground to make flour.
It has a strong nutty taste so is not generally used on its own in a recipe, as the taste of the finished product can be very overpowering, and a little bitter. Alternative names: beech wheat, kasha, saracen corn.
yes Wheat free yesGluten free


What is Almond Flour? What is Almond Meal?

Dec 15, 2010
source


Almond flour is simply ground blanched almonds. Recipes dating back to medieval times call for it as a thickener, a replacement for wheat flour, and a base for cakes and puddings. It doesn't show up a lot these days as an ingredient, but is still essential to certain European confections. source

Almond flour and meal are both just ground up almonds. Almond flour is most often made with blanched almonds (no skin), whereas almond meal can be made either with whole or blanched almonds. In either case, the consistency is more like corn meal than wheat flour. I find that for the most part they can be used interchangeably.
What is Almond Flour/Meal Good For?:

Almond flour is good in "quick-bread" type recipes, like muffins, nut breads, and pancakes (see recipes below). It's not good for foods such as bread that require a real dough (you can't knead it). Usually, more eggs are required when baking with almond meal to provide more structure. Almond meal can also be used in breading fish, but care must be taken not to burn it.


Can I Make My Own Almond Flour?:
Yes, you can make it in a blender or food processor, though care must be taken not to go too far, or you will have almond butter! Use fairly small amounts, and pulse until it's meal.[ehow]

Update

Dec 11, 2010

I'm trying to set up as much primary information from various sources, so please excuse the nothingness for a little while. More importantly, I've been trying to come up with a suitable layout for myself and this blog.

Another link:

Dec 5, 2010
Gluten-Free Diet: Grains and Flours

This list is intended to be an aid in choosing and enjoying gluten-free foods. Self-management of one’s diet requires awareness of foods’ content by label reading; awareness of foods’ contact with gluten-containing grains; and awareness of foods’ contamination by such grains in storage or preparation. Research on the relationship of celiac disease and food items is still limited.

As with the general public, people with celiac disease and dermatitis herpetiformis may also need to consider food allergies. The eight major food allergen groups are:

Milk * Eggs * Fish * Crustacean shellfish * Tree nuts * Peanuts * Wheat * Soybeans

http://www.csaceliacs.org/gluten_grains.php

A larger look at Gluten Free Food

Dec 3, 2010
Vegetarian Gluten-Free and Gluten Containing Foods
Food Gluten Free Gluten Containing
Cereals, flours, cakes & biscuits Arrowroot, buckwheat, corn/maize, potato flour, rice, rice bran, rice flour, sago, tapioca, soya, soya bran, soya flour. Wheat, wholemeal, wholewheat & wheatmeal flour, wheat bran, barley, rye, rye flour, pasta, noodles, semolina, All baked foods made from wheat, rye, semolina, barley & pearl barley.
Dairy products & eggs Eggs, milk, cream, butter, cheese, curd cheese, coffee whiteners, soya products Some yoghurts (eg muesli yoghurt), some cheese spreads
Puddings Tapioca, sago, rice, custard. Semolina, sponge pudding, pastry, pies, wafers.
Beverages Tea, coffee, herb tea, fizzy drinks, fruit squash, cocoa, marmite, most alcoholic drinks. Barley based drinks, barley fruit drinks, malted drinks, beer.
Fruit & vegetables All fruits & vegetables, unless with certain sauces or cooked with gluten containing foods .
Nuts, seeds & pulses All, except certain brands of baked beans and beans with a gluten containing sauce .
Preserves & confectionary Jam, marmalade, sugar, honey, treacle, molasses, golden syrup, some brands of chocolate & sweets. Confectionary containing flour, some brands of lemon curd
Soups & sauces Gluten-free if thickened with a suitable flour. Many manufactured sauces, stock cubes, and soups contain gluten .
Miscellaneous Salt, pepper, vinegar, herbs & spices, tamari, yeast, most food colourings and essences. Some pepper compounds, shoyu, ready-mix spices, some seasoning powders, certain brands of mustard. Certain medicines may contain gluten.
[via]
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...