Gluten in Medication

Dec 28, 2010
 

As many as three million Americans may have celiac disease, an autoimmune disease that damages the small intestine and can cause a wide variety of serious health problems.

People with celiac disease must follow a lifelong gluten-free diet.  This means avoiding all foods that contain wheat, rye, and barley.
Medications can also contain gluten, which is used in some medications to bind pills together.
It is important for people with celiac disease to determine if their medication contains gluten.  Unfortunately, that isn’t easy because right now there are no requirements for sources of gluten to be listed on the medication label.
Resources for checking if your medication contains gluten:
  1. Contact the company that makes your drugs, or ask your pharmacist to do so.
  2. Glutenfreedrugs.com is a website maintained as a public service by a pharmacist at Nationwide Children’s Hospital.
  3. A Guide through the Medicine Cabinet is a book developed to provide people with special dietary requirements additional information about medications. [via]

Merry Christmas from Glutenine

Dec 25, 2010

The Gluten-free Diet: Some Examples

Dec 20, 2010


In 2006, the American Dietetic Association updated its recommendations for a gluten-free diet. The following chart is based on the 2006 recommendations. This list is not complete, so people with celiac disease should discuss gluten-free food choices with a dietitian or physician who specializes in celiac disease. People with celiac disease should always read food ingredient lists carefully to make sure the food does not contain gluten.

Rss Feed

Dec 18, 2010

Please add Glutenine on your RSS feed:
http://feeds.feedburner.com/Glutenine

Another type of advice

Dec 17, 2010
Coeliac disease leads to severe damage of the gut surface, which can be completely reversed by following a gluten-free diet. Shortly after the diagnosis of coeliac disease,
you need to be extra careful to ensure you have a nutritionally adequate diet, as youmay have been suffering from malabsorption of nutrients.

NYC Gluten Free Locations

I quickly wanted to make a post about places you can find in NYC that are gluten free. Most happen to vegan centered, who knows?

  1. S'Mac
  2. Hill Country
  3. Rice To Riches
  4. Asia de Cuba
  5. Candle 79
  6. Forlini's Restaurant
  7. Bare Burger
  8. Del Posto
  9. Cafe Blossom
  10. Sparks
Oher places:
 Bistango Ristorante

415 Third Avenue, New York  - (212) 725-8484

 Mozzarelli's Pizza

38 East 23rd Street, New York  - (212) 475-6777


Tu-Lu Bakery

338 East 11th Street, New York  - (212) 777-2227



Gluten Free flours

 

Amaranth flour

Amaranth flour is made from the seed of the Amaranth plant, which is a leafy vegetable. Amaranth seeds are very high in protein, which makes a nutritious flour for baking. Alternative names: African spinach, Chinese spinach, Indian spinach, elephants ear.
yesWheat free yesGluten free

Arrowroot flour

Arrowroot flour is ground from the root of the plant, and is very useful for thickening recipes. It is tasteless, and the fine powder becomes clear when it is cooked, which makes it ideal for thickening clear sauces.
yesWheat free yesGluten free

Barley flour

Barley only contains a small amount of gluten, so is rarely used to make bread, with the exception of unleavened bread. It has a slightly nutty flavour, and can be used to thicken or flavour soups or stews. Blended with other alternative flours it is also fairly versatile for cakes, biscuits, pastry, dumplings etc.
yesWheat free noGluten free

Brown rice flour

Brown rice flour is heavier than its relative, white rice flour. It is milled from unpolished brown rice so it has a higher nutritional value than white, and as it contains the bran of the brown rice it has a higher fibre content. This also means that it has a noticeable texture, a bit grainy.
It does have a slight nutty taste, which will sometimes come out in recipes depending on the other ingredients, and the texture will also contribute to a heavier product than recipes made with white rice flour.
It is not often used completely on its own because of its heavier nature.
Bulk buying is not recommended as it is better used when fresh, store in an airtight container.
yes Wheat free yesGluten free

Buckwheat flour

Buckwheat flour is not, despite its name a form of wheat, buckwheat is actually related to rhubarb. The small seeds of the plant are ground to make flour.
It has a strong nutty taste so is not generally used on its own in a recipe, as the taste of the finished product can be very overpowering, and a little bitter. Alternative names: beech wheat, kasha, saracen corn.
yes Wheat free yesGluten free


What is Almond Flour? What is Almond Meal?

Dec 15, 2010
source


Almond flour is simply ground blanched almonds. Recipes dating back to medieval times call for it as a thickener, a replacement for wheat flour, and a base for cakes and puddings. It doesn't show up a lot these days as an ingredient, but is still essential to certain European confections. source

Almond flour and meal are both just ground up almonds. Almond flour is most often made with blanched almonds (no skin), whereas almond meal can be made either with whole or blanched almonds. In either case, the consistency is more like corn meal than wheat flour. I find that for the most part they can be used interchangeably.
What is Almond Flour/Meal Good For?:

Almond flour is good in "quick-bread" type recipes, like muffins, nut breads, and pancakes (see recipes below). It's not good for foods such as bread that require a real dough (you can't knead it). Usually, more eggs are required when baking with almond meal to provide more structure. Almond meal can also be used in breading fish, but care must be taken not to burn it.


Can I Make My Own Almond Flour?:
Yes, you can make it in a blender or food processor, though care must be taken not to go too far, or you will have almond butter! Use fairly small amounts, and pulse until it's meal.[ehow]

Update

Dec 11, 2010

I'm trying to set up as much primary information from various sources, so please excuse the nothingness for a little while. More importantly, I've been trying to come up with a suitable layout for myself and this blog.

Another link:

Dec 5, 2010
Gluten-Free Diet: Grains and Flours

This list is intended to be an aid in choosing and enjoying gluten-free foods. Self-management of one’s diet requires awareness of foods’ content by label reading; awareness of foods’ contact with gluten-containing grains; and awareness of foods’ contamination by such grains in storage or preparation. Research on the relationship of celiac disease and food items is still limited.

As with the general public, people with celiac disease and dermatitis herpetiformis may also need to consider food allergies. The eight major food allergen groups are:

Milk * Eggs * Fish * Crustacean shellfish * Tree nuts * Peanuts * Wheat * Soybeans

http://www.csaceliacs.org/gluten_grains.php

A larger look at Gluten Free Food

Dec 3, 2010
Vegetarian Gluten-Free and Gluten Containing Foods
Food Gluten Free Gluten Containing
Cereals, flours, cakes & biscuits Arrowroot, buckwheat, corn/maize, potato flour, rice, rice bran, rice flour, sago, tapioca, soya, soya bran, soya flour. Wheat, wholemeal, wholewheat & wheatmeal flour, wheat bran, barley, rye, rye flour, pasta, noodles, semolina, All baked foods made from wheat, rye, semolina, barley & pearl barley.
Dairy products & eggs Eggs, milk, cream, butter, cheese, curd cheese, coffee whiteners, soya products Some yoghurts (eg muesli yoghurt), some cheese spreads
Puddings Tapioca, sago, rice, custard. Semolina, sponge pudding, pastry, pies, wafers.
Beverages Tea, coffee, herb tea, fizzy drinks, fruit squash, cocoa, marmite, most alcoholic drinks. Barley based drinks, barley fruit drinks, malted drinks, beer.
Fruit & vegetables All fruits & vegetables, unless with certain sauces or cooked with gluten containing foods .
Nuts, seeds & pulses All, except certain brands of baked beans and beans with a gluten containing sauce .
Preserves & confectionary Jam, marmalade, sugar, honey, treacle, molasses, golden syrup, some brands of chocolate & sweets. Confectionary containing flour, some brands of lemon curd
Soups & sauces Gluten-free if thickened with a suitable flour. Many manufactured sauces, stock cubes, and soups contain gluten .
Miscellaneous Salt, pepper, vinegar, herbs & spices, tamari, yeast, most food colourings and essences. Some pepper compounds, shoyu, ready-mix spices, some seasoning powders, certain brands of mustard. Certain medicines may contain gluten.
[via]

Learning more

Nov 24, 2010



Grains With Gluten
  • Wheat
  • Rye
  • Barley
Gluten free Grains
  • Rice
  • Quinoa
  • Corn
  • Almond
  • Amaranth
  • Acorn
  • Buckwheat
  • Chickpea
  • Dal
Because of possible cross-contamination, some grains (such as oats) are questionable and may or may not exacerbate your condition. You may have to experiment a little with oats before you know what your tolerance is for them.
The trick with cooking with gluten free grains lies in making the flours bind in a similar fashion to traditional wheat flours. You will most likely need to combine several different types of gluten free flours, perhaps with a gluten free binder such as arrowroot or tapioca or cassava flour. When several types of gluten free flours and binders are mixed together, you can bake breads, make pancakes and even bake desserts similar in taste and texture to those made with wheat flour.
[via]

 Others:
  • Most beers and some wines
  • Malt vinegar
  • Malted cereal or farina cereal
  • Prepared gravies or gravy packages
  • Many types of soup
  • Baked beans or chili
  • Some salad dressings
  • Certain brands of sausages
  • Pate
  • Stock cubes or bouillon
  • Less expensive cold cuts

Wheat

Nov 22, 2010
Once the kernels have been separated, they can be ground into flour. There are many classifications for flour, depending on what part of the seed is used and how hard the endosperm, the largest part of the kernel, is. Wheat kernels have three parts: the small germ, the large endosperm, and the rough outer casing known as the bran. Hard wheats are suitable for making pasta and bread, and soft wheats are used for other wheat products that do not require a high gluten content.

If a flour is made solely from the endosperm, it is known as white flour. If the germ is ground as well, the product is called germ flour. Flour that uses the whole kernel is called whole wheat. When making flour that doesn't use the whole kernel, the bran and germ are processed and sold separately. [via]]

Define: Gluten Free Diet

Nov 17, 2010
  • diet prescribed to treat celiac disease; eliminates such foods as wheat and rye and oats and beans and cabbage and turnips and cucumbers that are rich in gluten
    wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn
  • A gluten-free diet is a diet completely free of ingredients derived from gluten-containing cereals: wheat (including kamut and spelt), barley, rye, and triticale, as well as the use of gluten as a food additive in the form of a flavoring, stabilizing or thickening agent. ...
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gluten-free_diet

Define: Gluten

Nov 16, 2010
  •  a protein substance that remains when starch is removed from cereal grains; gives cohesiveness to dough
    wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn
  • Gluten (from Latin '' "glue") is a composite of the proteins gliadin and glutenin''. These exist, conjoined with starch, in the endosperms of some grass-related grains, notably wheat, rye, and barley. Gliadin and glutenin comprise about 80% of the protein contained in wheat seed. ...
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gluten
  • Fibrin (formerly considered as one of the "animal humours"); The major protein in cereal grains, especially wheat; responsible for the elasticity in dough and the structure in baked bread
    en.wiktionary.org/wiki/gluten
  • An inherent starch that exists in most grain or wheat sources. Gluten is an important source of nutritional protein and as an additive to foods otherwise low in protein. Gluten is also used as a flavoring additive or a thickening agent.
    www.jerky.com/Glossary.html
  • tough nitrogen containing substance remaining after the flour is washed free of starch.
    www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/livestock/dairy/facts/08-039.htm
  • A protein in flour that developes elasticity when kneaded, this is desirable in bread as it helds trap the carbon dioxide in the dough and enables it to rise with less risk of collapsing. Strong flour is high in gluten.
    www.cookeryonline.com/Resource/GlossaryG.html
  • a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, and oats.
    nyp.org/health/digest-glossary.html
  • A protein group found in wheat and other flours that forms the structure of the bread dough. Gluten holds the carbon dioxide (CO2) produced by the yeast and expands during fermentation, and provides the elasticity and extensibility (stretch) in bread dough. ...
    www.hodgsonmill.com/common-nutrition-terms/
  • Maintaining a gluten free diet is essential if you are gluten intolerant or have Celiac Disease. Gluten free foods contain no wheat, rye, barley or their crossbred hybrids as well as no processed ingredients that would cause there to be 20 or more micrograms of gluten per gram of food.
    www.vansfoods.com/home/glossary-links
  • An immediate principle of vegetables; it is soft, of a grayish white, viscid consistence, and very elastic. GRANULATION, Granulations are the reddish, conical, flesh-like shoots which form at the surface of wounds and ulcers.
    chestofbooks.com/health/herbs/O-Phelps-Brown/The-Complete-Herbalist/Glossary-G-L.html
  • Gluten is part of the elastic, rubbery protein found in wheat, rye, barley and oats. It binds the dough in baking and prevents crumbling. Gluten can be found in breads, cakes, pastries, cookies, biscuits, crackers, battered foods, cereals, snack foods, pastas and pizza. ...
    www.naturallysavvy.com/healthy-eating/glossary
  • a water-soluble protein found in flour. Kneading flour in bread-making brings out the smooth elastic qualities of the gluten content.
    www.cooksrecipes.com/cooking-dictionary/G-3.html
  • is a protein found in wheat. It helps provide structure to yeast raised and baked food products. It contains the allergen which causes gluten enteropathy.
    www.usarice.com/index.php
  • A mixture of plant proteins found in cereal grains such as corn and wheat, and that gives dough its cohesiveness. Sensitivity to gluten can cause damage to the intestines.
    www.fleetlabs.com/glossary.php
  • The sticky substance that remains after the bran has been kneaded and rinsed from whole wheat flour. Used to make seitan and fu.
    www.goodhealthinfo.net/mdr/glossary.htm
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...